Doom 2016 Review

By: Knight Blade

It’s time to rip and tear all over again.

My history with the DOOM franchise is pretty big. After all, the original DOOM is the first game I ever played. I remember playing it on my dad’s old PC when my grandma was watching me while he was at work. I snuck in as much game time as I could since I wasn’t allowed to play it. I didn’t get the chance to play DOOM II many years later until my parents deemed me “mature” enough to play rated M titles. The same goes for DOOM 3. But I still remember my first moments of playing the first DOOM.

Cut to 2016 and the DOOM reboot is here. Developed by id Software and published by Bethesda, the latest title promises the return of the roots of DOOM. Fast paced combat, over the top violence, metal soundtrack, and loads of demons to slaughter. Does it deliver?

Let’s start with the campaign. The DOOM Marine starts wakes up to find that the UAC facility on Mars invaded by demons. Within the first 5 seconds of starting a new game, you have a gun in your hand and you start blasting demons in the face. It gets straight into it and that’s what I love about it. The game does have a story, but it acts like neither you nor the DOOM Marine cares. In fact, the DOOM Marine is angry. He’s constantly smashing monitors and other various, important devices on his quest to kill every last demon. That’s actually one of my favorite aspects of the campaign. There is a serious story going on, and what is there is interesting, but DOOM Marine just doesn’t care.

Gameplay wise, it feels old school and yet modern at the same time. There is no reloading, no zooming in (besides the sniper and a mod for the heavy assault rifle), and not taking cover. You strafe, you constantly unload into the demons, and you switch weapons all the time. The new biggest addition that the game has is the glory kills. When you cause an enemy to stumble, you can run in and do an animation that involves you killing the demon in very gory fashion. You have to do this constantly because that is your main source of health since health packs are few in number. When I first saw these kills, I was hesitant. While I liked the animations, I was worried that they would slow down the combat. They actually don’t. The animations are short enough so that you can pick up right where you were. The other big changes is you can acquire mods for your weapons and the ability to level up your health, ammo, and armor. You want micro missiles on your assault rifle? Check. You want a lock on for your RPG? Check. The mods make the guns even more fun to use. Regarding upgrading your base stats, you can find Argent Cells in the levels. You use these to upgrade your base stats by 25. You can also find chips off the guards to level up your suit, which allows you to take less damage from explosions, find secrets, etc.

The game is gorgeous. It’s using the id Tech 6 engine and it shows. The game runs beautifully at a constant 60fps.

The campaign is a blast. One of the best campaigns I’ve played. I loved every moment of it. I wish I could say the same about the multiplayer.

The multiplayer is pretty divisive among the fans. When it was in beta, some people didn’t like it (myself included) while others loved it. I will say that the multiplayer in the main game is better but it still has some issues. My biggest problem with the multiplayer is that it has an identity crisis. On one end, it wants to be an arena shooter. On the other hand, it wants to be a modern shooter. It has loadouts. It has perks in the way of Hack Modules. It has a leveling system. With the loadouts comes to two weapon system, which limits the variety of the matches.

While I have those problems, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t enjoying it. Game modes like, Freeze Tag and Soul Harvest is a blast and unlocking new customization options is fun. Plus, getting a friend or two to play with is makes it more enjoyable.

The 3rd and final main component of the game is SnapMap. Here, people can create various levels, either co-op or deathmatch, and share them with the world. I am not a big person on creating levels. Heck, I bought Mario Maker just to play the levels, not make them but I found myself messing around with the creator. It’s simple but can be very deep the more you use it (like Mario Maker). I played a few co-op maps with a friend and had a blast (even with the bad ones).

DOOM is a return to form. It feels old school yet modern at the same time. The campaign is worth playing through multiple times for the difficulties and finding the secrets in every level. The multiplayer is worth trying if you have a friend to play with and I can’t wait to see what people do with SnapMap.

 

